I (a poem)

I can’t be
That person inside
That I’ve always wished I could
I can’t look
The way the magazines
And the movies
Tell me I’m supposed to
I’m not blonde enough for
The one group
I’m not thin
Or death-like enough
For the one I really want to
Be a part of
I’m not tattooed enough
To be your girl
Or petite enough
To be yours
I’m sitting here
Just me
Not heavy, but certainly not thin
Not inked, but that’s cuz of monetary issues
Not my decision
Goth, but not extreme enough
A little cute & shy, but not feminine enough
So what do I do?
I can wait &
Possibly die alone
Or change into
Either something I can’t be
Or something I don’t wanna be
I think I’ll
Take the former
I think I’d
Love to die alone

I (a poem)

Leave a Reply

