Growth, Respect & Worth (a thought)

I kinda took a quick look back at the past year, stepped back and saw with detached eyes (no, I don’t mean that in a zombie-flick kinda way haha) where I was, what I was doing and who I was with, and I realized something: I don’t belong there anymore.

Places with little values, no sense of right and wrong, appreciation of girls who have no self-respect, no talents and no personality over girls like I, who have brains and respect.

I won’t go around dressing like a Barbie doll or a Gothic dungeon mistress just to get attention at these places and from these people with no futures.

I might not be beautiful, I might not be rich, I might not have a career that will make me rich in the future, but I have one thing everyone I once knew don’t, and it’s something my mother instilled in me from the time I was a little girl: self-respect/self-worth.

I won’t sleep with everyone I meet. I won’t drink excessively. I won’t dress like a street-walking slut. I won’t do cocaine. I won’t be anything but me. And you know what? I like me. I really do. Even if that means I won’t fit in with my old crowd, that’s okay.

I’ve met a lot of people recently who accept me and actually like me the way I am. People who invite me places and are glad I show up. People who actually like what I’m trying to accomplish in my life. Most of all, drama-free people who can respect my mother.

The point of this blog is this: I know who I am. I’m not going to try to be someone I’m not. And if anyone reading this IS trying to be someone other than who they were born to be, know this: in the end, the only person who’s happiness matters is your own, so don’t worry about fitting in or meeting other peoples’ standards: meet your own and love yourself just the way you are.

Growth, Respect & Worth (a thought)

Leave a Reply

