Living Contradiction (a poem)

Hi, everyone! Been a while since I’ve posted. Insomnia and other “real life” issues have kept me from this place, but I hope you all enjoy this poem. It IS a poem, NOT a song. I just gave it a refrain, which I rarely do to my poetry. It doesn’t have a date on it, but it was written within the past year. I hope you all like it!

 

I don’t know what to say

Or how to write these words

Choking my mind

Arresting my hand

Staining the page before me

When it comes to you I can’t

Speak

Think

Talk

Eat

Or even breathe

Are you my angel?

Or my devil in disguise?

Will you inspire me to

Great heights?

As you did once before?

As you have been for so long since?

 

Angel?

Devil?

How the Hell should I know?

Hater

Lover

Just say you’ll be my friend

Until the end

Until this all goes away

I’ll never find another like you

Muse

Inspiration

Promise me that

You’ll never go away

 

I heard your voice

And just like that

You reeled me in

I saw your eyes

And I was caught once again

Like a fish on a line

For you to keep me and

Do with me what you please

You drive me absolutely

Crazy

Don’t you know?

I’d do anything for you

Give whatever I could

All you have to do is

Ask

 

Angel?

Devil?

How the Hell should I know?

Hater

Lover

Just say you’ll be my friend

Until the end

Until this all goes away

I’ll never find another like you

Muse

Inspiration

Promise me that

You’ll never go away

 

You’re a living contradiction

So sweet

And yet so bitter

Good and yet

You yearn to be so bad

I love you

As you are

My dear

My muse

My angel

My devil

My everything

 

Angel?

Devil?

How the Hell should I know?

Hater

Lover

Just say you’ll be my friend

Until the end

Until this all goes away

I’ll never find another like you

Muse

Inspiration

Promise me that

You’ll never go away

Living Contradiction (a poem)

Leave a Reply

