Brand New Me (a poem)

This is the original version of a poem I put into Personal Heaven. I made some changes to it in the manuscript but I hope you enjoy it!

 

I looked in the mirror today

I didn’t like what I saw

A girl trying to be someone she isn’t

Someone she can’t

That is to say

A pretty girl who has it all

Things I never will; never could

I looked in the mirror yesterday/

I can barely remember who I was

Young and fearful

Insecure and incomplete

She gazed at me with sad, reflected eyes

And asked what and why

I look in the mirror and wait for tomorrow

I don’t know what I’ll see

The girl with a story from yesterday

Or the one trying to be someone

Maybe I’ll see none and become

A new person

A brand new me

Brand New Me (a poem)

4 thoughts on “Brand New Me (a poem)

Leave a Reply

