Can This Be? (a poem)

So strong

This feeling

My cold, clammy hands

Rapidly beating heart

Shaking extremities

Could only mean

One of two things

Either I am

Scared to death

Or I am

Falling in love

How could this be?

How could this happen to me?

I swore it off

I locked my heart

Away

In a little compartment

And threw away the key

I never let anyone near it

So how did you do it?

Did you pick the lock without

Setting off the alarm?

Did you slip through the cracks

Like a vampire?

Are you just a ghost?

Haunting me?

Driving me

Crazy?

When I found you

It was so normal

I never expected it to

Turn into this

This constant ache in my heart

Whenever I even think about

Your eyes

Your smile

Your very being is

Intoxicating

Stronger than Absinthe

Smoother than

The finest whisky

Can this be what I always

Abhorred?

Can this be what the poets talk about

Endlessly?

Can this be

My new

Everything?

Everyday?

Well, I guess I can’t say

That I mind

Can This Be? (a poem)

Leave a Reply

