Perfect Poison (a poem)

Your perfect concoction of
Sweet poison
Oh, how it spilled
Spills from your pretty pink lips
Like sweet nectar I lap it up
Fooling myself that it will help me
Make me better
And maybe it did for a while
But like all
Dangerous substances
It’s killing me now
Destroying me like
Fire slowly burns a photograph
Like the one we took together that first night
Smiling, your head on mine
I want to go back to that time
Lines were blurred
But you were here
Spilling your poison
Down my throat
I lapped it up eagerly
But like a drug
I’m having withdrawals
I’d rather OD on your sweet poison
Than die for the lack of it’s
Deadly effects

Perfect Poison (a poem)

Leave a Reply

