A Century (a poem)

I thought I was mistaken

Never thought I’d see you again

I watched you die

Slowly, your mortal body

Wilted before my undying eyes

I walked away

Didn’t have the courage to change you

Didn’t have a heart to watch your smile

The light in your eyes

Fade away

When you left you took

A little piece of me

Away with you to Heaven

You promised me you’d see me again

Baby, I just wonder when?

Because immortality is no fun

If I can’t spend it with you

And now you’re here

Back again

But you’re not the same

You don’t know me anymore

A familiar face, the same place

But a different heart inside

A century went by

I barely noticed

Missing you

And now I miss you more

You’re here but you’re not the man I knew

Your heart is hardened

And I don’t know what to do

Can I make your mortal heart open up?

Can you make my immortal soul love again?

A Century (a poem)

Leave a Reply

